2018 National & Public Holidays In Nigeria

The table you see below contains an accurate list of all national and public holidays in Nigeria for 2018. This should serve as a guide to Nigerians planning for Easter holidays, Muslim festivals etc.

Most of these dates are subject to change especially the Islamic public holiday dates which are determined by moon signs.

Click to See National Public Holidays in Nigeria For 2019 Here

If you are a civil servant and are looking to plan your year ahead, especially as a federal government worker, these updated national public holiday dates for 2018 calendar might help as you won’t be caught unawares especially when the government declares a national holiday at certain dates.

Below is the list of all Public holidays in Nigeria this 2018 and dates
Date Weekday Holiday name Holiday type
Jan 1 Monday New Year’s Day Public Holiday
Mar 8 Thursday Women’s Day Observance
Mar 20 Tuesday March equinox Season
Mar 25 Sunday Good Friday Public Holiday
Mar 26 Monday Holy Saturday Observance, Christian
Mar 27 Teusday Easter Day Observance, Christian
Mar 28 Wenesday Easter Monday Public Holiday
May 1 Sunday Workers’ Day Public Holiday
May 27 Tuesday Children’s Day Observance
May 29 Tuesday Democracy Day Public Holiday
Jun 12 Tuesday June 12 Commemoration Local holiday
Jun 20 Wenesday June Solstice Season
Jul 7 Saturday Id el Fitr Public Holiday
Jul 8 Sunday Id el Fitr additional holiday Public Holiday
Sep 13 Thursday Id el Kabir Public Holiday
Sep 14 Friday Id el Kabir additional holiday Public Holiday
Sep 22 Saturday September equinox Season
Oct 1 Monday National Day Public Holiday
Oct 3 Wenesday Al-Hijra (Islamic New Year) Local holiday
Dec 12 Wenesday Id el Maulud Public Holiday
Dec 21 Friday December Solstice Season
Dec 24 Monday Christmas Eve Observance, Christian
Dec 25 Tuesday Christmas Day Public Holiday
Dec 26 Wenesday Boxing Day Public Holiday
Dec 31 Monday New Year’s Eve Observance

Click to See National Public Holidays in Nigeria For 2019 Here

Updated version:

Day Date Holiday
Monday January 01 New Year’s Day
Thursday March 08 Womens Day
Friday March 30 Good Friday
Monday April 02 Easter Monday
Tuesday May 01 Workers’ Day
Sunday May 27 Childrens Day
Tuesday May 29 Democracy Day
Tuesday June 12 Public Holiday
Friday June 15 Eid-el-fitri Sallah
Wednesday August 22 Id el Kabir
Monday October 01 Independence Day
Saturday December 22 Sambisa Memorial Day
Tuesday December 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday December 26 Boxing Day

The Author

Nigerian Infopedia

Nigeria's number one online Information Hub

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.